What happens to scheduled jobs set to half past midnight, when the clocks go forward or back?

Trust our team tester to think of this one!

When the clocks go forward in Spring there is no time from 00:00 to 01:00.
When the clocks go back that time period duplicates.

Is Salesforce clever enough to handle jobs scheduled in this time? Will the job still run once per night even on those nights, or will it skip a night in Spring or double up in Autumn?

Answer

Impact of scheduled jobs due to fall of Day light savings

Knowledge Article Number: 000170765

Description
On Nov 4th, we have fall of day light savings. could you please let us know how is this handled in SFDC cloud. In general, clocks will be set back from 1:59AM to 1AM. In this case the jobs which are scheduled at 1AM will run twice on this day. Do we have the same impact in SFDC as well.

Resolution
The scheduled date time is in GMT, so the job is executed once.

Say the user is in GMT+5 (considering dailight savings), 1 am GMT+5 is 8pm GMT (previous day), so at 8 pm GMT the job is executed. When the day light savings stop applying at 2 am GMT+5 (9 pm GMT) the time for the user is displayed as 1 am GMT+4 (still 9 pm GMT). We don’t go back in time, we just change the offset with GMT.

The same goes for the off set of the daylight saving Just apply the corresponding time offset in the time displayed to the user.

Here is link to Salesforce Knowledge Article https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewSolution?id=000170765&language=en_US

Attribution
Source : Link , Question Author : Richard Corfield , Answer Author : sfdc

Leave a Comment